ILA announces election of a new Chairwoman and Board of Directors

The Luxembourg Institute of Directors (Institut Luxembourgeois des Administrateurs, ILA) elected Mrs Carine Feipel as the Chairwoman of the Board with immediate effect at its 18th June annual general meeting. 

Mrs Feipel is a Luxembourg attorney and a certified independent director. She is a member of several Boards of Directors, including Banque de Luxembourg, La Luxembourgeoise, AIG Europe, Fidelity Funds, Morgan Stanley Investment Funds, CDCL. She has practised as a lawyer since 1994, specialising in insurance law. She spent almost 20 years with a major Luxembourg law firm before going independent in 2014. Since 2010, Mrs Feipel has been a member of various committees within the Haut Comité pour la Place Financière. She has been a member of the ILA Board of Directors and Management Committee since 2015. 

The annual general meeting held at the BCEE’s "19 Liberté" Banking Centre was the last for the out-going chairman Raymond Schadeck, with him completing his maximum four-year term. He presented the 2018 results and the association’s objectives for the coming years, noting that ILA now has more than 1,800 members.

Mr. Schadeck said "The best preparation for tomorrow is doing your best today” “I wish the new Chairwoman and Board of Directors every success for the future. "

Mrs. Feipel said, "I am very honoured to be appointed as Chair of ILA. I look forward to working with the Board and all of ILA’s members to contribute to the improvement of corporate governance in all types of organisations. As Boards of Directors face new challenges, whether technological, regulatory or others, ILA intends to help its members adapt and receive appropriate trainings to improve their knowledge and expertise. "

At the annual general meeting, the ILA Board was partially renewed, with five of its members re-elected and two new members chosen. 

The new ILA board is as follows:

  • Carine FEIPEL (SINCE 2015)

  • Monique BACHNER (SINCE 2011)

  • David BARTH (Since 2017)

  • Ruth BÜLTMANN (SINCE 2016 – Re-elected 2019)

  • Katia CIESIELSKA (Elected 2019)

  • Vincent DECALF (SINCE 2012)

  • Emmanuel DOLLE (SINCE 2019 Re-elected 2019)

  • Marjolijne DROOGLEEVER FORTUYN (Since 2017)

  • Michèle EISENHUTH (SINCE 2011)

  • Marc FEIDER (Elected 2019)

  • Philippe HOSS (SINCE 2010 – Re-elected 2019)

  • William JONES (SINCE 2014)

  • Virginie LAGRANGE (SINCE 2018)

  • John LI (SINCE 2010 – Re-elected 2019)

  • Pierre MARGUE (Since 2017)

  • Sophie MITCHELL (SINCE 2012)

  • John PARKHOUSE (SINCE 2015)

  • Thierry SCHUMAN (SINCE 2011)

  • Rosa VILLALOBOS (SINCE 2013 – Re-elected 2019)

ILA Board of Directors

The annual general meeting was followed by a conference entitled "Brexit - shaping financial market and governance changes in Europe" by Mr Italo di Lorenzo, Head of Regulatory Operations and Group-wide Brexit Readiness Project Manager at Deutsche Börse Group, Germany and Luxembourg. 

As is traditional, the day ended with an award ceremony, where nine new ILA Certified Directors and eight new ILA Certified Company Secretaries received their certificates. This brings the totals to 124 Directors and 17 Company Secretaries certified by ILA in Luxembourg. A cocktail provided by BCEE followed, giving participants a networking opportunity. 

About ILA

As the Voice of Corporate Governance in Luxembourg, ILA aims to be the premier interlocutor in Luxembourg on topics affecting directors and boards of directors more generally. We also promote best practice in the field of corporate governance for organisations of all types. As well as representing directors’ interests nationally and internationally, we run and promote specialist training courses and information sessions, as well as offering guidance. We work to help our members become highly qualified, effective and respected corporate directors working to apply state-of-the-art corporate governance rules and practice. 

Download the press release